Election of IGTC Officers, 2022 General Assembly

At the IGTC General Assembly on 30 November, global grain trade participants took key decisions regarding the near, mid, and long-term future of the association.

2022 is an "election year" for IGTC and as such, 12 grain trade representatives were appointed as Management Council members for 2023, of which five elected Officers:

  • President: Gary C. Martin, North American Export Grain Association (NAEGA)
  • First Vice President: Iliana Axiotiades, European association of trade in cereals, oilseeds, rice, pulses, olive oil, oils and fats, animal feed and agrosupply (COCERAL)
  • Second Vice President and Secretary: Pat O'Shannassy, Grain Trade Australia (GTA)
  • Third Vice President: Gustavo Idígoras, Argentine Chambers of cereals exporters and oilseeds industries (CIARA-CEC)
  • Treasurer: Gerald Makau Masila Eastern Africa Grain Council (EAGC)


The International Grain Trade Coalition Association (IGTC) is a non-profit federation of associations formed to serve the greater good by promoting and facilitating the performance of the supply chain for grains, oilseeds, pulses and derived products. Aims include:

  • Support accomplishments toward world food security and economic well-being goals as defined by the United Nations.
  • Inform and promote the common/shared interests of international actors that include farmers, producers, exporters, importers, governments and consumers.
  • Foster a safe, predictable, sustainable, affordable, nutritious and secure food supply across the world.
  • Share critical research and expertise on the global supply chain.
  • Serve the diverse needs arising from international provision of food, feed, transport and processing for grains, oilseeds, pulses and derived products in particular by:

* Providing technical, legal and economic evaluations of certain current and future practices and policy on the impact on the distribution chain and food availability, security, affordability, and safety;
* Communicating internationally and supporting regional, national and local communication.