Paperless trade - ePhyto Solution now open to countries worldwide

Commission on Phytosanitary Measures

The IGTC’s global communications campaign on electronic phytosanitary certificates (ePhytos) was launched on 26 June following the opening of the ePhyto Hub to all countries around the world.

Central to the IGTC's communications campaign are 5 key messages highlighting to governments their crucial role in establishing a fully functioning, widely adopted system if the initiative is to be of true benefit for global trade.

Grain trade leaders will be raising these messages during their in-country conversations on the digitization of trading documentation. In addition, the IGTC will continue its active communication at global level with the Industry Advisory Group (IAG) of the ePhyto solution, a group that allows relevant private sector actors to share "real-life" experiences to better inform the implementation of the project. 

In addition to the original 13 "ePhyto pilot countries"*, last week it was confirmed that the National Plant Protection Organization (NPPO) of Mexico has now implemented connection to the ePhyto Hub and is configuring its system to send and receive certificates. Looking forward, reports show that some 70 countries are working to join the generic ePhyto exchange system from September/October 2018. 

The government-to-government system for internationally harmonized ePhytos is being implemented by National Plant Protection Organizations (NPPOs - publicly available list here). It is governed by the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC) and guided by bodies that are part of the Standards and Trade Development Facility (STDF). 

Upcoming meetings:

  • ePhyto Industry Advisory Group (Rome, 19 July)
  • Latin America regional conference (Buenos Aires, 12-13 September)
  • Near-East and Africa regional conference (UAE, 12-14 November)

Click here for a beginners guide to the Hub

First round of ePhyto countries: Argentina, Australia, Chile, China, Ecuador, Kenya, Netherlands, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, USA // countries testing the generic system: Ghana, Samoa, Sri Lanka